Cape Motorsports Mazda Raceway Recap
 September 20, 2015| 
  • Team News

Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing driver Nico Jamin won the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda this past weekend at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, September 10 – 13.  Jamin is the fifth driver from the Cape Motorsports stable in as many years to win the championship. In total, the team has won nine USF2000 driver championships.

In the final two rounds of the season, Jamin took his record breaking 12th and 13th poles, moving him ahead of Chris Simmons and Aaron Justus on the all time list.  He then went on to dominate both races picking up his ninth and 10th wins of the season, tying him with Jay Howard for the fourth position on the all time win list, just behind Chris Simmon (13), JR Hildebrand (12) and Spencer Pigot (11).

Teammate Aaron Telitz, also in the hunt for the championship, started outside pole for both races and ended Race 1 battling for a fourth-place finish and a runner-up finish in Race 2.  Telitz finished third in the championship with one win and one pole.

With his title, Jamin also collected a Mazda scholarship to graduate to the next step on the Mazda Road to Indy, the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, in 2016. The prize is valued at more than $380,000.

Cape Motorsports claimed the team championship at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in August. It was the team’s fourth championship in as many years, and eighth team title in total.

“We couldn’t be more proud of both our drivers,” said team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape. “To win our fifth straight driver's championship and win 11 out of 16 races with a 14 pole streak - what a season by Nico and Aaron.

"A big thank you to our crew, Will, Don, Reg, Colin, John, Jim, Jeremy G, Jeremy B, Kyle, Tyler, Scott & Larry along with our driver coaches Matthew Brabham and Ricky and Jordan Taylor. Also thank you to Steve and Logan Knapp at Elite Engines, Cooper Tires and John Doonan at Mazda, Andersen Promotions and our sponsors and families – we couldn’t do this without all of them.”

The USF2000 Series will next be on track for a series test at the Circuit of the Americas, November 21-22 in Austin, Texas. 

  • 23-05-31-morey1_450
    • Team News
  • 23-05-31-dyszelski_450
    • Team News
  • 23-05-30-jhdd4_450
    • Team News
  • Clark Banner
    • Series News
  • 23IndyGPGB03800_1200x450
    • Team News