Newey to Drive for Afterburner Autosport in Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda
 February 28, 2013| 
  • Team News
Up-and-coming American joining Mazda Road to Indy program

MINNEAPOLIS, MIN. – Afterburner Autosport has announced that Brandon Newey will pilot their No. 98 entry in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda series. Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb/Agajanian will be the co-entrant and the two teams will collaborate to develop a championship-winning program in the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system.

Newey, a twenty-year-old Indianapolis native and Purdue University sophomore, is anxious to get started on the first step of the ladder system with the well-respected Afterburner Autosport team. 

The 2012 season was very successful for Newey in the Formula F1600 Championship Series. He finished second in the championship points standings and achieved four wins, five second-place finishes, and two pole positions including a new track record at Watkins Glen. In addition to being a finalist for the Team USA Scholarship, Newey continues to emerge as a talented young American driver who is working hard to get the top level of INDYCAR racing. 

“I am really looking forward to going to Sebring with the Afterburner Autosport team," said Newey. "I have to thank Tim Walsh and Brian Tomasi for providing the opportunity to race with their team in the USF2000 series. We have a lot of work to do since I missed the recent Winterfest races in January but I am up for the challenge.”

Afterburner Team Manager Brian Tomasi said that he is very excited about adding Brandon to his driver roster for this season.

“We are extremely happy to have Brandon join the team. With his strong performances in the F1600 Championship series, we know that the Cooper Tires USF2000 series is the next place to showcase his talents.”

Newey’s entry will be sponsored by independent record label Curb Records, a long-time BHA partner. Other sponsors include Millers Oils, a leader in racing and high performance automotive lubricants based in the Great Britain, and Calcium Pro, an advanced medical app for disorders of calcium metabolism including parathyroid disease and osteoporosis. 

In 2013, the USF2000 Championship will complete a 14-race circuit over seven weekends, starting at Sebring International Raceway on March 13-15. Newey will look to build on last season’s momentum and challenge, once again, for the championship. 

Additional information on Afterburner Autosport is available from the team’s website @ For direct contact, email or call 630-251-1709.

Keep up to date via Twitter @ ABautosport1 and Facebook page @ Afterburner-Autosport.

For more information on Bryan Herta Autosport, please visit

Learn more about Brandon Newey at and keep up to date via Twitter @ BNEWEY and Facebook @ Brandon.Newey.

Learn more about Jake Eidson at and keep up to date via Facebook @ JacobEidsonRacing.

Learn more about Wyatt Gooden at and keep up to date via Twitter @ WyattGooden and Facebook @ WyattGoodenRacing.


About Afterburner Autosport:
Afterburner Autosport was formed in 2010 with the sole purpose of leading the way in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda competition. Under the guidance of two-time SCCA Formula Continental National Champion Brian Tomasi and fellow F2000 racer and engineer Tim Walsh, the team has over 20 years of experience in open-wheel competition. The Minnesota, Min.-based squad, having captured two podium finishes in its inaugural pro racing season last year, made its USF2000 Championship debut in 2012, fielding multiple cars in the top Championship class. The squad returns to the first rung of the Mazda Road to Indy program with an expanded multi-car effort in 2013.

About Bryan Herta Autosport:
Founded by veteran IndyCar driver Bryan Herta and noted race engineer and team manager Steve Newey, Bryan Herta Autosport (BHA) was established as an Indy Lights team in 2009. The team entered the Indianapolis 500 for the first time in 2010 and won the 2011 Indianapolis 500 with driver Dan Wheldon in only its second IndyCar Series start. In 2012, the Indianapolis, Ind.-based squad campaigned a full season in the IndyCar series with driver Alex Tagliani. For 2013, the team will continue with the IndyCar program in addition to other racing projects.
  • Papasavvas_450
    • Team News
  • e87a7846-3c03-4534-9f74-072e131be764
    • Team News
  • Tanner
    • Team News
  • Brienza-HMHF-Announcement_USFProWebsite Final
    • Team News
  • Garcia_day2
    • Series News