Pacific Formula F2000/F1600 Heads to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
 June 3, 2016| 
  • Feeder Series
Malibu, Calif. – The chase for the Pacific Formula F2000/F1600 Championship, presented by Primus Racing Parts, continues this weekend, June 3-5, when the series ventures north to the picturesque and historic 2.238 mile road course that has hosted events from the Canadian American Challenge Cup in the 1960’s and 70's, ChampCar, and IMSA to MotoGP, World Superbike and Historic Reunion events.  The series will again be running with the San Francisco Region of the SCCA in their SFR Championship Series Double Regional.

Tim de Silva heads the entry this weekend, coming in having won four consecutive races at Willow Springs and Buttonwillow raceways.  The Dave Freitas Racing driver leads the championship while he returns to the track that just one year ago made his debut in the series by winning both races that weekend and making series history with the first ever father/son podium with his father, Harin, a regular series competitor finishing in third place on Sunday.

The field also includes 2015 F2000 champion Tom Hope, 2015 F1600 champion Scott Huffaker and 2015 Rookie of the Year Connor Funk while others included on the entry are longtime series competitors Peter West a former Master Class champion, Bob Negron a former Series champion, James Hakewill, Alex Kirby and Scott Vreeland.  Also joining the field will be newcomers John Fabijanic, Sterling Ellsworth and part-time participants Paul Rodler, Jeffrey Pietz and Paul McFarlane.

Activities begin with Friday morning practice followed by an afternoon qualifying session with races to be held on Saturday.  A second qualifying session and race will be held on Sunday morning and afternoon race.
Weather is forecast to mostly sunny on Friday with temperatures in the low seventies, partly cloudy and slightly cooler on Saturday in the mid sixties and cooling and the low sixties on Sunday.  

The Pacific Formula F2000 Championship Series presented by Primus Racing Parts is included in the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200k Scholarship Shootout in 2016.  The winner of the knockout style shootout will be provided with a $200k Scholarship to enter the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda in 2017 – the first rung in the Mazda Road to Indy ladder sanctioned by INDYCAR.

The Mazda Road to Indy is the only driver development program of its type in the world offering a clear, scholarship-funded path to the Verizon IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500.

The Pacific F2000/F1600 series has a rich history and includes among its alumni drivers J.R. Hildebrand, 2011 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the year and Dane Cameron, Tudor Series Prototype and GTD winning driver along with Pro Mazda Presented by Cooper Tires driver and recent race winner Patricio O’Ward and Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda drivers Nikita Lastochkin and Yufeng Luo. Luo was also the 2015 SCCA Runoffs winner in the event held at Daytona International Raceway.

The series can be followed at and
For more details go to or contact Peter West at
  • USF2000 start
    • Series News
  • 24-05-21-jhdd1
    • Team News
  • Garcia Banner
    • Series News
  • 24-05-20-evagoras1
    • Team News
  • 24-05-14-jhdd2
    • Team News