Peter Portante Wins the 2012 Skip Barber Race Series Championship Shootout
 December 17, 2012| 
  • Series News

Wins a MAZDASPEED USF2000 Scholarship, $20,000 from California Scents and Indy Lights Test

Courtesy: Skip Barber Racing School

Braselton, Ga. - Skip Barber Racing School continues to develop the next generation of professional racers through this outstanding opportunity for aspiring formula racers. The champion of the 2012 Skip Barber Race Series Championship Shootout is Peter Portante. 

Portante edged runner-up Jake Eidson by .25 points. Only 3.3 points separated the top-four finishers.  

"This is just an unbelievable weekend, good drivers, so many close races," said Portante, who now has his sights set firmly on the 2013 USF2000 season. "First and second were separated by four points. Top top four were all between four points. So it's an unbelievable weekend. It's just a testament to what Skip Barber can do to young drivers."   

The Skip Barber Race Series Championship Shootout is an event that rewards drivers from the Skip Barber Winter and Summer Race Series the opportunity to compete for more than $300,000 in racing scholarships. 

The top racers from the 2011-2012 Winter and Summer Race Series competed in the grueling three day process where they were evaluated on their overall performance in five race events, media evaluation, fitness test and a business proposal. Portante will receive a scholarship from Mazda toward the 2013 USF2000 race season, an Indy Lights Test with Bryan Herta Autosport, and a $20,000 cash prize from California Scents. The second through fifth-place finishers will receive scholarships to compete in 2013 Skip Barber Race Series events.

This year's Championship Shootout took place December 14 - 16, 2012 at Road Atlanta. This event is the pinnacle of the Skip Barber Racing School Scholarship Ladder, rewarding young racers who are dedicated to their craft and successfully work their way through the proven Skip Barber system. No other developmental race series offers as much expert coaching both on and off the track, media exposure, scholarship opportunities and vital track time.

2012 Skip Barber Race Series Champion Shootout Awards:

Peter Portante - 1st place: $200,000 MAZDASPEED USF2000 Scholarship presented by Mazda for the 2013 season; $20,000 cash from California Scents; IndyLights Test with Bryan Herta Autosport

Jake Eidson - 2nd place: $25,000 Race Series Scholarship

Danilo Estrela - 3rd place: $20,000 Race Series Scholarship

Tristan DeGrand - 4th place: $15,000 Race Series Scholarship

Aaron Telitz - 5th place: $10,000 Race Series Scholarship

*All scholarships funds are spread out over each race event throughout the course of the 2012 season, and cannot be applied to only a few select events.

About Skip Barber Racing School
For 38 years, Skip Barber Racing School, the leader in high performance driving and racing education has operated a fully integrated system of racing schools, driving schools, racing championships, corporate events and OEM events across North America. Skip Barber Racing School is offered at more than 20 of America’s most prestigious race tracks. Skip Barber Racing School provides entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive and drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. The reason many people choose to race with Skip Barber Racing is because they know it is the place where the stars of tomorrow begin their careers. The Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Spencer Pigot and many more. 

  • aa
    • Team News
  • Ayrton_DC_Autosport[1]
    • Team News
  • Schwartz
    • Team News
  • Banner
    • Team News
  • Sikes
    • Series News