Cape Motorsports Looks to Claim Victory in the USF2000 Night Before the 500 for the Fourth Time in as Many Years
 May 22, 2013| 
  • Team News
INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana – After a two-month hiatus, Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing and its three driver line-up return to the track for this Saturday’s 2013 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda Night Before the 500 at Lucas Oil Raceway. The team drivers have combined to win the first four races of the season.

Arguably one of the biggest nights of the year for USF2000, the Night Before the 500 race has been won by a Cape Motorsports driver for the past three seasons. The team and its drivers are hoping to add their fourth win-in-row in the prestigious race that gives fans a look at the future of IndyCar. Neil Alberico, Scott Hargrove and James Fletcher all want to be the driver that stands at the top of the podium on Saturday night. 

Hargrove, driver of the No. 38 machine already has three wins and four poles this season. After the first four races, he is the points leader heading into Saturday’s race.

Alberico will pilot the No. 2. After winning five of the six Cooper Tires Winterfest preseason races, and picking up one win in Race 2 at Sebring, he has been plagued by bad luck much of the season. He is hoping to turn his luck around at Lucas Oil Raceway. 

Englishman Fletcher will drive the No. 3 machine. Like Alberico, Fletcher has had a bit of bad luck this season. However, he has shown he is a contender and will be battling with his teammates for the victory. 

“We truly believe that the future drivers of IndyCar are in the USF2000 Series,” said team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape. “We have been fortunate to work with some of the brightest stars in the world, and we believe that Scott, Neil and James are future stars. The Night Before the 500 is an exciting event, and we think we have the drivers to add the fourth win in a row.”

Past Cape Motorsports drivers to win the Night Before the 500 were Spencer Pigot in 2012, Petri Suvanto in 2011 and Patrick McKenna in 2010. 

The drivers will have three test sessions on Friday, May 24th. After two morning practice sessions on Saturday, May 25th, the drivers will qualify at 4:10 p.m. ET (single car qualifying). The Night Before the 500 will go green at 7:40 p.m. (75 laps or 30 minutes). For live timing and scoring, please visit 

In addition to the USF2000 race, Cape Motorsports and driver Jake Eidson will be competing in the F1600 Formula F Championship at Lime Rock Park. Eidson has one win this season and is currently third in the point standings. 

You can follow the team on Facebook and Twitter (CMwithWTR) for updates.

  • 24-06-12-jhdd1
    • Team News
  • Banner
    • Series News
  • Sam banner
    • Series News
  • GB-IRP-240523-07731_1200
    • Team News
  • Garcia Banner
    • Series News