Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing Ready to Start USF2000 Season with Four-Car Assault
 March 12, 2012| 
  • Team News

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – With only days until the opening race of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda, Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing and its four drivers are making final preparations for Sebring International Raceway, March 14-16.

The team, which claimed the Cooper Tires Winterfest Championship earlier this season by winning all six races, is hoping the preseason testing/racing momentum and home crowd fans will give them the advantage when the green flag waves.

The team will be fielding three cars in the Championship class: Matthew Brabham will pilot the No. 83, Trent Hindman will drive the No. 3 and Spencer Pigot will be in the No. 2. The three young drivers swept the Cooper Tires Winterfest standings with Pigot finishing first (five wins), Hindman second and Brabham third (one win). The newest member of the team, Henrik Furuseth, will compete in the National Class, driving the No. 32. 

“This is one of the best driver line-ups we have had in our many years racing in USF2000,” said team owner Dominic Cape. “The amount of talent both from our drivers and those they are competing against is tremendous, so we know it won’t be easy. Our drivers and crew did amazing at Winterfest, so we are taking what we learned and looking forward to having a successful season opener at Sebring.” 

The Cooper Tires USF200 Championship Powered by Mazda will open its season as part of the American Le Mans Series 12 Hours of Sebring. The team and drivers will first be on track for a promoter test day on Tuesday, March 13 (11 – 11:40 a.m. and 6 – 6:40 p.m.). The first official practice is the following day, Wednesday March 14 (8:45 – 9:15 a.m. and 1:25 – 1:55 p.m.).

A 30-minute qualifying will be held Thursday, March 15 at 8 a.m., and Race 1 will go green at 1:20 p.m. (30 minutes). After a 15 minute warm-up the next morning (March 16) at 8:40 a.m., the green flag will wave for Race 2 at 11:15 a.m. All times are ET. 

Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing was formed in 2010 as a partnership between two successful racing entities. With leadership from brothers Nicholas and Dominic Cape, and along with Wayne Taylor and his organization in Indianapolis, the team campaigns cars in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda. In 2011, the team helped Petri Suvanto claim the driver championship. For more information, please visit You can follow the team on Facebook and Twitter for updates (CMwithWTR). 

  • 23-05-31-morey1_450
    • Team News
  • 23-05-31-dyszelski_450
    • Team News
  • 23-05-30-jhdd4_450
    • Team News
  • Clark Banner
    • Series News
  • 23IndyGPGB03800_1200x450
    • Team News