JDC MotorSports Commences USF2000 National Championship Chase at Sebring
 March 11, 2011| 
  • Team News

JDC MotorSports begins its pursuit of another junior formula car series title this coming week (March 17-18), when Rounds One and Two of the Cooper Tires presents the USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda takes place at Sebring International Raceway. Rookie of the Year and title contenders Luke Ellery and Juan Piedrahita will lead the charge at the historic central Florida road course, seeking to give the Minnesota-based squad a winning start to the 2011 race season.


When the second season of the revitalized USF2000 National Championship gets underway as part of the prestigious Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring event, one squad competitors and fans a like will be keeping an eye on is JDC MotorSports. A former pro F2000 championship-winning team – capturing the 2009 F2000 Championship Series crown – JDC has a history of not only challenging for top honors every time it races, but also developing young talent. That will be no different at Sebring, with series rookies Ellery and Piedrahita poised to make their mark. Piloting the No. 5 Melbourne IT/Luke-Ellery.com/Red Line Oil JDC MotorSports entry, Ellery enters the season-opening doubleheader ready to build on an impressive USF2000 debut late last season, which witnessed the Australian securing a front-row start and podium finish in the season-finale event at Road Atlanta. Piedrahita, who will drive the No. 19 Petrosur/GFK Motors/Montopharma/ Colombia es pasion/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry, meanwhile will make his USF2000 debut having scored one top-five and two top-10s in an impressive limited Star Mazda campaign last season.


“Since driving with JDC late last year I am very excited to get back behind the wheel at Sebring,” commented Ellery. “It's a place I haven't been to before, so the main aim of the weekend is to grab some championship points and put us in a good position for St. Pete.”


“I’m very excited for the beginning of the season in a couple of days in Sebring,” stated Piedrahita. “I’m mentally and physical prepared. We had a great pre-season test, and I’m looking forward to fight for the championship from the first race.”


The Cooper Tires presents the USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda season gets underway for JDC MotorSports and its talented rookie drivers on Tuesday (March 15), with a pair of promoter’s test day sessions at Sebring International Raceway. Day two in central Florida will feature the lone practice session on the historic road course. Qualifying for Round one will take place on Thursday morning (March 17), followed by the opening race of the season at 2:15 p.m. local time. Friday (March 18) will consist of a morning warm-up and Round Two at 11:55 a.m. local time.


JDC MotorSports races with associate sponsorship from www.RedLineOil.com


Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team’s website @ www.jdcmotorsports.com For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075




About JDC MotorSports:

Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season of F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009. This past year, JDC continued its winning ways, earning the Rookie of the Year award in the Star Mazda Championship with Connor De Phillippi, and scoring a non-points win in the USF2000 National Championship. The Minneapolis-based squad will compete in the Star Mazda Championship, USF2000 National Championship and Prototype Lites Championship in 2011 via multi-car operations.

  • Papasavvas_450
    • Team News
  • e87a7846-3c03-4534-9f74-072e131be764
    • Team News
  • Tanner
    • Team News
  • Brienza-HMHF-Announcement_USFProWebsite Final
    • Team News
  • Garcia_day2
    • Series News