JDC MotorSports Prepares for Inaugural GP of Indianapolis
 May 7, 2014| 
  • Team News

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – This coming weekend, JDC MotorSports will take part in the first-ever Grand Prix of Indianapolis and will provide the support and tools for a quartet of drivers across two different divisions of racing. In the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, JDC will field three entries for Michael Johnson, Kyle Connery, and Ryan Booth. In the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda, Texas racer Clark Toppe will be the lone driver to fly the JDC MotorSports flag. The four pilots will make history come Thursday, as they will venture out on to the historic Grand Prix circuit nestled inside the sprawling infield of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a circuit that means everything to open wheel racers, the world round. JDC’s line-up of young open wheel talents will contest the fifth and sixth rounds of their respective championship series.”

The JDC MotorSports team was most recently in Birmingham, Alabama where the Mazda Road to Indy programs visited the Barber Motorsports Park for rounds three and four of the season. In USF2000, Toppe had a solid weekend, driving to a top-10 finish in Race #1 on Saturday morning, before following that up with an 11th place run in Race #2 later that afternoon. Toppe kicked off the season on the streets of St. Petersburg back in late March, picking up a 15th place finish in the first race of the season, before scoring an impressive fifth place finish in race two. Toppe will head to Indy sitting ninth in the USF2000 points fight.

“The season has gone well, earning some good finishes at St. Pete and good points at Barber despite our goal to score some top-five finishes,” offered Toppe.  “JDC MotorSports has given me a great car each weekend and even though it’s my second year, we are still learning how to better the car at each track. I’m very excited to race on the IMS road course since the track has so much history. I came here for many years as a kid to watch the Brickyard 400 with my Dad, and to race on the track is a true dream. Since the track is actually pretty similar to NOLA Motorsports Park, where we scored our first win, with a long straight and a flowing layout, I’m looking forward and hoping for some good results.”

About JDC MotorSports:

Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season of F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009. The following year, JDC continued its winning ways, earning the Rookie of the Year award in the Star Mazda Championship with Connor De Phillippi, and scoring a non-points win in the USF2000 National Championship. In 2011, the Minneapolis-based squad captured its third Star Mazda Championship title with Tristan Vautier, scored a win in the USF2000 National Championship, and made its Prototype Lites Championship debut, earning five podium finishes. JDC MotorSports added to its Star Mazda Championship win tally, USF2000 Championship podium total, and finished as the Prototype Lites Championship runner-up in 2012. Last year, the squad continued its run of Pro Mazda and USF2000 podium finishes, and was third in the Prototype Lites title fight.


  • Pabst Feature Team 2017 Web 1
    • Series News
  • USF Season End Web 2017
    • Series News
  • unnamed
    • Team News
  •  9.12.17| 
    • Series News
  •  9.6.17| 
    • Series News