JDC MotorSports Ready to Contest First-Ever USF2000 Championship Tripleheader with Talented Multi-Car Line-Up
 August 16, 2012| 
  • Team News
Alberico, Hargrove, Johnson and Miller seeking top results in 'home' race at Road America

MINNEAPOLIS, MN. – The chase for Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda supremacy will feature a new twist for JDC MotorSports this coming weekend (August 17-18), as the multiple junior formula car championship-winning squad will contest a tripleheader for the first time at Road America. Thanks to an expanded driver line-up that includes rookie Scott Hargrove rejoining fellow first year racers Neil Alberico, Michael Johnson, and veteran Chris Miller, the Minnesota-based team enters what is its 'home' event positioned to fight for top honors in Rounds Eight, Nine, and Ten at the famed Wisconsin road course.

The first-ever USF2000 triple race event features the talented field returning to a permanent road course - the 4.0-mile Road America track. The Elkhart Lake, Wis. facility features an exciting mixture of long straights, high-speed corners, and hard braking zones, which ultimately leads to lots of close racing and overtaking.

Given the track's close proximity to JDC MotorSports' home headquarters, and the fact the team has raced extensively at Road America over the years in a variety of classes and championships, it should come as no surprise that it has plenty of experience and success to pass on to its talented foursome under the awning. 

For Alberico, the three races in Wisconsin are being viewed as a chance to re-ignite his quest for top honors in his return to North American junior formula car competition in 2012. After a run of bad luck behind the wheel of the No. 19 Kartel Motorsports/Bondurant School/RaceLite Protection/ Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports, the Californian is focused on building on a top-six result last time out, and converting his talent and speed into results.

Johnson, who races via hand controls as the lone paralyzed driver in the prestigious Mazda Road to Indy program, has impressed onlookers throughout the 2012 campaign. That being said, the No. 54 Universal Coating/Alpinestars/Coloplast/ FlatOutNation.com/Red Line Oil/Movement Arts Motorsports Marketing/JDC MotorSports pilot is not one to be satisfied until he is challenging for positions among the leaders, making that the continued goal at Road America.

Miller, likewise, travels to his 'home' track keen to be part of the fight for a place on the post race podium. With proven record in the class as the 2009 F2000 Championship Series champion, the No. 85 Miller Racing/Stockholm Motorsports Park/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports racer is aware of what it takes to succeed, and is looking to return to that form in the Wisconsin tripleheader.

The talented trio will have a familiar face beside them under the JDC awning at Road America, as Hargrove returns to USF2000 action after multi-event absence. Not behind the wheel since the St. Petersburg street race doubleheader back in March due to funding issues, the Canadian is eager to once again pilot the No. 38 Analytic Systems/Race Energy/Skip Barber Racing School/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry and resume his rookie campaign.

The on-track action for the JDC MotorSports foursome begins on Wednesday (August 15), with Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda testing at Road America. One day later the lone practice run and qualifying session, which will set the grid for race one of the tripleheader, will take place. Rounds Eight and Nine are slated for Friday morning and early evening (August 17), while Round 10 is scheduled for Saturday morning (August 18). Live timing and scoring will be available at www.f2000.com/Multimedia/Live.aspx

JDC MotorSports races with associate sponsorship from www.RedLineOil.com

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team’s website @ www.jdcmotorsports.com For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

Learn more about Neil Alberico at neilalberico.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ NeilAlberico and his Facebook page @ Neil-Alberico-Racing

Learn more about Scott Hargrove at scotthargrove.com keep up to date via Twitter @ Scott_Hargrove and his Facebook page @ ScottHargroveMotorsports

Learn more about Michael Johnson at michaeljohnsonracing.com keep up to date via Twitter @ Racer54isCool and his Facebook page @ Michael-Johnson-Racing


About JDC MotorSports:
Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season of F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009. The following year, JDC continued its winning ways, earning the Rookie of the Year award in the Star Mazda Championship with Connor De Phillippi, and scoring a non-points win in the USF2000 National Championship. In 2011, the Minneapolis-based squad captured its third Star Mazda Championship title with Tristan Vautier, scored a win in the USF2000 National Championship, and made its Prototype Lites Championship debut, earning five podium finishes. JDC MotorSports will contest the Star Mazda Championship, USF2000 Championship and Prototype Lites Championship in 2012.
  • Schwartz
    • Team News
  • Banner
    • Team News
  • Sikes
    • Series News
  • Schwartz Banner
    • Series News
  • Papasavvas Banner
    • Series News