Dates Set for Lucas Oil School Scholarship Shootout Presented by Cooper Tires
 September 13, 2019| 
  • Series News

Lucas Oil School of Racing Announces the 2nd Annual Scholarship Shootout Presented by Cooper Tires

Port Richey, Fla. - Drivers from all over the world will travel to Sebring International Raceway December 10-12, to participate in three days of on-and-off track professional training in the Lucas Oil Ray BR-RSC Formula Cars.

Following the success of the inaugural event in 2018, LSR has expanded its scholarship from exclusively karters to include Sim, Quad & Motocross racers.

LSR founder & CEO Neil Enerson enthusiastically states “I am extremely excited for this year’s Shootout which now includes invitations not only to karters but to sim, quad & motocross racers.  We are seeing more and more students from different forms of racing come into our school and run at the front. In the four years since the school began, we have seen our alumni move up into the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires, IMSA & SCCA Pro ranks. We are proud to have played a part in their success.” 

A panel of judges, including LSR instructors and motorsports industry professionals from IndyCar, IMSA and more will determine the top 5 drivers to receive scholarships.

  • ●1st - FULL SEASON in 2020 Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series
  • ●2nd - Half Season in 2020 Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series
  • ●3rd - Two Race Events
  • ●4th - One Race Event
  • ●5th - One Advanced 2-Day Program

Applicants must be at least 12 years old and have no prior competitive open-wheel experience*.  Scholarship hopefuls can participate in as many LSR Advanced 2-Day or Race Events leading up to the shootout as they wish. However, they must complete at least one Basic 2-Day program to be eligible*.

The 2018 Scholarship Shootout Winner, Prescott Campbell, currently sits 4th in points in the Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series. Four of the top five drivers in the standings are 2018 scholarship winners competing for their choice of a grand prize of $75,000 towards a full season in the Road to Indy USF2000 series or $50,000 towards a full season in the F4 Championship.

To apply online, please visit Once accepted the shootout has an entry fee of $4,999.

*Testing an open-wheel car does not disqualify a driver

*Program must be completed before the shootout; drivers can apply at any time

  • 2023 Champions
    • Series News
  • 23-09-06-jhdd1_450
    • Team News
  • DCA Banner PDX 2023
    • Team News
  • Banner
    • Series News
  • USF start (2)
    • Series News