Pacific F2000 Returns to Wine Country’s Sonoma Raceway
 June 28, 2016| 
  • Feeder Series
MALIBU, Calif. – The chase for the Pacific Formula F2000/F1600 Championship, presented by Primus Racing Parts, returns to Sonoma Raceway for the first time since 2011 this weekend, July 1-3. This is the second trip to the San Francisco Region of the SCCA to compete in an event on one of their iconic race tracks for the Sonoma Sprints Double Regional, having visited Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca earlier this month. 

Heading the entry this weekend is Tim De Silva having won the last six races while setting lap records at each of the three tracks visited. The Dave Freitas Racing driver leads the championship as he seeks to continue his remarkable streak.

The field also includes 2015 F2000 champion Tom Hope and 2015 F1600 champion Scott Huffaker while others included on the entry are longtime series competitors Peter West a former Master Class champion, Bob Negron a former Series champion and Scott Vreeland. Also joining the field will be part-time participants Paul Rodler, William Jordanov, Ken Rozeboom along with Ray “Bill” Dormandy, Geoffrey Fass and Tim Fass.

After a test day scheduled for Thursday, scheduled activities begin Friday morning practice followed by an afternoon qualifying session and 5:00pm race. Qualifying for Sunday’s race will be held on Saturday afternoon for a morning race to be held at 9:45am Sunday morning.

Weather is forecast to sunny on through the weekend with temperatures in the low nineties on Friday, and low eighties on Saturday and Sunday.

The Pacific Formula F2000 Championship Series presented by Primus Racing Parts is included in the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200k Scholarship Shootout in 2016.  The winner of the knockout style shootout will be provided with a $200k Scholarship to enter the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda in 2017 – the first rung in the Mazda Road to Indy ladder sanctioned by INDYCAR.

The Mazda Road to Indy is the only driver development program of its type in the world offering a clear, scholarship-funded path to the Verizon IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500.

The Pacific F2000/F1600 series has a rich history and includes among its alumni drivers J.R. Hildebrand, 2011 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the year and Dane Cameron, Tudor Series Prototype and GTD winning driver along with Pro Mazda Presented by Cooper Tires driver and recent race winner Patricio O’Ward and Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda drivers Nikita Lastochkin and Yufeng Luo. Luo was also the 2015 SCCA Runoffs winner in the event held at Daytona International Raceway.

The series can be followed at and
  • USF2000 start
    • Series News
  • 24-05-21-jhdd1
    • Team News
  • Garcia Banner
    • Series News
  • 24-05-20-evagoras1
    • Team News
  • 24-05-14-jhdd2
    • Team News